What You Know – Notes

Background Notes for What You Know

I remember a little of this. I remember some scents. Some verse forms do have a scent. All of them do, probably. Like spices to be mixed into one of my favorite recipes.

Lately I’ve been cooking up rondeau soups. Our reticent colleague calls the form I use here a “Hunt rondeau,” after Leigh Hunt’s Rondeau. OK, we’ll let it be. It probably was there before Hunt used it, and probably wasn’t called that then. Probably was just called a rondeau. We’ll use Hunt to distinguish it from what my notes normally think of as a rondeau. My notes have dozens of other variations. I think I created many of them to connect all the different variations together and extend them out. Like experimenting with spices in soup. They all work differently, depending on what else you throw into the pot.

In some of my own poems from before, my “Hunt” ones used feminine rhyme on even-numbered lines, like Hunt’s does. I went with all masculine on the poem I am posting here, but rely on a different sonic thing my notes show me. Go with what I know, I keep reminding myself.

Go with what I know. I don’t really need to remember in order to know. Things you really do know and believe, they stay with you even if you forget everything.

— Sara

Tagged:

One thought on “What You Know – Notes

  1. clarioretenebris November 16, 2012 at 10:50 pm Reply

    I’ve seriously been enjoying experimenting with this “Hunt rondeau.” Sara’s notebooks have been giving us some unique insights, like how she did with her sestina work.

    And that “reticent colleague” she mentions has been getting us to take on a poem we want to write, to do it as a triolet then to do it as a conventional rondeau, then come back around to finalizing it as one of these Hunt versions of the form. That exercise helps to bring out the way the form works the poem. At least, for me it does. Maybe one of us should post the full set, like some “variations on a theme” sort of thing.

    If nothing else, I think Hunt’s version of rondeau form ought see way more use. It’s a serious verse form in its own right. At least, for me it is.

Leave a Reply

